What Is It That You Do, Exactly?

As a twenty-something, I really cannot stand this questions. I cannot stand it when someone asks me and I cringe with hypocrisy when I ask it of someone else; “what do you do, exactly?” “what do you do for a living?” “what’s your job?”…it just makes me want to crawl in a hole and never answer. Some people may ask it with some genuine interest, and are earnest with wanting a thoughtful response, but most of the time, people ask it to compare whether or not you have succeeded or failed in your life. Because, as we all know, you have achieved enlightened, full-zen success at 25. OR YOU HAVE JUST WASTED YOUR TIME.

Growing up, all I ever wanted to do was be an adult. I wanted to make money, dress in nice clothes, and make choices regarding what occupied my time. Although these are all glorified parts of adulthood, but at the time, it’s all that mattered. Since I was a teenager, I have always been driven, specifically on a career path. I was so sure that I wanted to be a fully-independent “big-wig” business woman. I was determined that, even though my focus was non-profit work, I was going to make it big. People would respect me, I would leave my peers in awe, I would be on the news.

About a year ago, I had a complete meltdown about not achieving adulthood. I recognized that my career path was cloudy, I haven’t travel, and therefore wasn’t worldly, I was loosely involved with volunteer work, and I still don’t own a power suit. I cried. 4.5 years of college for nothing. I have accomplished nothing. When people asked what I do, I avoided the question all together. I was ashamed that I hadn’t put forth the image I wanted people to see. No one is impressed by a glorified Executive Assistant. I can’t even believe that’s my title. I was embarrassed.

A few months back I came to the conclusion that I do not know what I want to do. I don’t know what I want for a career, and I do not know where I see myself in 5 years. Naturally, being the type A nut job that I am, I panicked that I have completely derailed my life with having zero direction of where I want to go. I’m 25 and an adult, dammit, I should know by now.

A couple weeks prior, I had a realization. I don’t care. I don’t care that I don’t have a designed career path. I am here now, and I want to see where it goes. Will I be there forever? Probably not. Will I be there tomorrow, yes. Will I be there in a year? Maybe. I don’t care that I don’t know if working in an office is what I want to do…or business development, or managing a team of architects. Maybe I want to be a full-time fitness instructor, maybe I want to own my own wellness business, maybe I want to fulfill my long-time fantasy of owning a winery with a bistro inside of it.

On a regular day, I would still be in a panic with my lack of direction. Today, I embrace it. We often look down on those who don’t know “what they want to do when they grow up”, but I think that breaks down our imagination and fits us into a box. I embrace the fact that the destination is unknown and I may get to experience many different jobs before I find my path. It doesn’t matter that at 25 I haven’t “made it” and I completely accept that. I think it is a fabulous idea to get away from putting such an importance of what a person does for a living and rather, ask them what they do for fun. The answer is almost always more interesting.

Incidentally, I am in the process of my second promotion at WWA, which could bring about some amazing new experiences and opportunities for growth. So here is to the unknown future of goals and careers and wherever the fuck you’ll be in 5 years!

Leave a comment